Welcome to the home of the Sandpoint High School Cross Country team. SHSXC is dedicated to Sandpoint High School Cross Country all year round.

Team Pics

Current Weather

Sandpoint Girls Win Libby Invite, Boys 2nd


Remote image

The Sandpoint Cross Country team turned in incredible results this weekend at the Libby Invitational. The girls team placed first, running a very strong 19:26 pack time over the 3 mile course. They scored 37 points, beating 2nd place Glacier by 15, with Timberlake coming in 3rd with 81 points. Mikhaela Woodward placed 2nd overall, running an 18:31, followed by freshman Katherine Kaul who turned in an 18:49 for 4th place, then Rainey Woodward with a 19:10 for 6th, Claire Pierce was 11th with a 19:57, and Sharon Rowe ran a 20:41 for 14th to round out the top 5. The girls 3 mile all time top 25 was re-written today. Mikhaela moved to 2nd, Katherine moved to 3rd, Rainey to 4th, Claire to 9th, and Sharon to 14th.

Remote image

The boys team also had a very strong day, placing 2nd to Glacier who was 2nd at their State meet last year and only lost one person. Glacier scored 28 points, Sandpoint 33 and Timberlake was 3rd with 97. Sandpoint was led by Sam Powell, who ran a 16:11 for the 3 mile course and placed 3rd. Jacob Graham was close by running a 16:12 and placing 4th, Kenny Kovalchuk placed 7th in a 16:25, Matt Cloud 9th in a 16:44 and Andy McGinnis 10th in a 16:51 for 10th. The boys team had a pack time of 16:28 and moved 6 up or onto the all time 3 mile list. Sam Powell now sits at number 2nd, Jacob 3rd, Kenny 4th, Matt 8th, Andy 9th, and Mark at 25th.

Remote image

In JV, Sandpoint also showed depth and speed, winning both the boys and girls races. The girls placed 2nd, 3rd, 6th, 7th and 8th led by Dana Beaty who ran a 22:07. Next was Grace Bradley in a 23:19, followed by Karlee Williams (24:03), Lindsey Ballard (24:07), and Saydee Brass (24:14) for the scorers. In the boys race, the top placers were 3rd, 4th, 6th, 8th and 10th led by Quinn Donnelly who ran an 18:22. Daniel Radford, Clay Rasmussen, Wyatt Hagen and Riley McGinnis rounded out the top 5 scorers.

The next race for Sandpoint will be September 13th at Hayden Canyon.


Ping notification